1961: Elmer Roper elected Mayor of Edmonton
– New Democratic Party is born in national conference making trade union movement a formal partner with the CCF in new political party
– Alberta workers join national strike of CPR’s running trades unions

1961: Amalgamated Transit Union members hold bus strike in Calgary; insulted by Mayor Harry Hayes

1962: Edmonton-based unionist Neil Reimer, the key figure in organizing workers in oil refineries and chemical plants, becomes the first provincial leader of the New Democratic Party.

1963: City locals of the National Union of Public Employees and the National Union of Public Service Employees unite as Canadian Union of Public Employee locals.

1963: Millionth Workers’ Compensation claim filed in Alberta

1966: National postal strike instrumental in winning bargaining rights for federal government workers

1967: Federal government employees granted collective bargaining rights under the Public Service Staff Relations Act following period of labour militancy
– Garth Turcotte elected first NDP Member of the Alberta Legislature in by-election in Pincher Creek-Crowsnest; exposes Social Credit scandal in land deals associated with founding of hamlet of Sherwood Park

1968: Massive strikes occur in the Post Office

1969: Civil Service Association becomes the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees; gains limited right to engage in collective bargaining